Skip to content
|Sielaff· Vending & Automatensysteme

Sielaff SiCompact ECO

7.2/ 10

Recommended

Data review — researched from sources, not physically tested. How we rate

Design & build8.0
Technology & features7.0
Operation & maintenance8.2
Capacity & range6.5
Value for money6.5
Auf Anfrage
  • Retail
  • Floorstanding
  • Indoor
  • Yes
🌿

No EU energy label
for this category

Rated power consumption

1500 W

Standby power

60 W

Sielaff SiCompact ECO — Frontansicht · Quelle: sielaff.de

6 photos · Sielaff SiCompact ECO

Use cases

Where this machine fits.

Suitable

Petrol station shop, kiosk, smaller supermarket

0.80 m² footprint and single-phase connection. For small to medium single-use return volume in tight space, this is the right size.

Suitable

Publicly accessible location with accessibility requirements

The eaSi variant is lower-profile, and Sielaff documents operating heights for intake, control panel and receipt. This is rarely documented so clearly in this category.

Suitable

Not suitable: supermarket with full return operations

Single roll container, no glass on base model, no published throughput. For full-scale operations, Sielaff offers the SiCompact 2020 with pallet roll containers and up to 60 containers per minute.

Suitable

Not suitable: site without confirmed recognition option

Without optional container recognition, the machine is a collection unit with compaction but not a reliable validator. This must be clearly stated in the quote.

Our rating in detail

Five public rating axes, weighted against the available evidence.

Design & build
8,0 / 10
Technology & features
7,0 / 10
Operation & maintenance
8,2 / 10
Capacity & range
6,5 / 10
Value for money
6,5 / 10

Our verdict

7.2Good

Single-phase deposit-return machine for single-use PET and cans, 0.80 square metres floor space, three sizes including a low accessibility-compatible model. The catch: container recognition is an optional feature on this series, not standard equipment.

At a glance

Model
Sielaff SiCompact ECO
Manufacturer
Sielaff
Category
Reverse Vending Machines
Type
Reverse Vending
Price range
Auf Anfrage
Overall score
7.2 / 10
Origin
Sielaff (DE)

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Standby documented at maximum 60 W; for equipment that idles most of the time, the more relevant figure
  • Only 0.80 m² floor space on the base model — in retail, floor space is the real currency
  • Three sizes, including the low-profile eaSi with documented operating heights (intake 1.151 mm, control panel 1.213 mm, receipt 959 mm)
  • Single-phase 230 V connection: no three-phase power needed, unlike the larger SiCompact 2020
  • Compaction on all variants — fewer container changes
  • ECO M additionally accepts reusable glass and PET, and reusable cups and trays
  • German manufacturer in Herrieden, spare parts availability for Sielaff equipment generally good

Cons

  • Metal detection also optional only
  • No information on point-of-sale integration or telemetry found in reviewed sources
  • No annual consumption published
  • No collection capacity in units specified — service interval cannot be calculated in advance
  • Container recognition (SiEye 360° or Omega barcode) is optional, not standard — the core function on a deposit-return machine
  • Base model and eaSi do not accept glass; reusable return requires the ECO M or a second solution
  • No public price and no dealers found with pricing; sold as projects
  • No throughput published; the 60 containers per minute figure applies to the larger 2020 series

Review

Design & Build

First, a clarification on the name, because our own database was incorrect here. We had listed the machine as "Sielaff RVS 800". This model designation does not exist: Sielaff's deposit-return series are called SiOne, SiCompact and i-core. We verified this on the manufacturer's website and through targeted searches, and updated the record to the current series.

The SiCompact ECO is the single-phase standalone series for single-use containers. It comes in three sizes, and the differences are practical, not cosmetic.

The base model measures 1900 × 880 × 910 millimetres, weighs approximately 300 kilograms without collection container, and requires 0.80 square metres floor space. The ECO M is significantly wider at 1195 millimetres, weighs approximately 350 kilograms, and requires 1.09 square metres — in return, it accepts more: reusable glass and PET bottles, single-use bottles, cans, and even reusable cups and trays. The third variant is called eaSi, is the lowest at 1605 millimetres, and the lightest at approximately 270 kilograms.

The eaSi warrants close attention, because Sielaff documents something rarely specified in this category: operating heights. Container intake is at 1151 millimetres, the control panel at 1213 millimetres, receipt dispensing at 959 millimetres. These are the measurements required for accessibility compliance — and their inclusion in the datasheet suggests the variant is designed specifically for this purpose. For a publicly accessible location, this is the deciding factor between fit and retrofit.

The 0.80 square metre footprint is the other key argument for this series. A deposit-return machine occupies retail space where sales area is lost — every square metre has a cost. By comparison: the larger SiCompact 2020 requires roughly double the space at 1350 millimetres width and 1130 millimetres depth.

Technology & Features

This is the point that requires careful scrutiny, and it appears in the datasheet: container recognition is optional on the ECO series. Sielaff offers two options — a 360-degree recognition system called SiEye or a 360-degree Omega barcode reader — both listed as optional, as is metal detection.

For a deposit-return machine, this is not a minor matter. Recognition is the function that determines whether a container is deposit-liable, whether the security feature is genuine, and whether the same container is not redeemed twice. Anyone ordering the ECO without this option gets a collection machine with compaction, but no reliable validation. This option must be explicitly listed in the quote and compared — on the larger SiCompact 2020, real-time camera-based rotation-free Omega 360-degree recognition is standard, along with precision scales for weight, barcode, shape and security feature.

All three ECO variants include compaction. This is the function that determines labour costs in operation: the greater the compaction of empties, the less frequently someone must change the container. Collection is in a roll container, mixed or divided on the base model; the ECO M also accepts an SiDrop module for reusable containers, kept separate from single-use containers.

Operation is via touchscreen with user guidance. Sielaff does not specify display size for the ECO series; on the 2020 series it is 10.1 inches in HD.

No information on connectivity is found in the reviewed sources. For a machine whose collection container must be emptied, fill-level telemetry would be the obvious benefit — it is not documented. This is a recurring pattern across the machines we have reviewed on this site: telemetry is promoted but rarely documented.

Capacity & Formats

Collection capacity is the metric that determines labour requirements on a deposit-return machine, and the ECO series is deliberately compact. The base model and eaSi accept one roll container, mixed or divided. The ECO M also accepts an SiDrop module for reusable containers. Sielaff does not specify unit count, which is understandable given that capacity varies with material type and the degree of compaction.

For planning purposes: the number of empties per week must be estimated at the location based on its return volume. There is a clear division in accepted formats. The base model and eaSi accept single-use PET and cans — not glass. The ECO M additionally accepts reusable glass and PET bottles, and reusable cups and trays. Any retailer who accepts reusable returns — standard practice in Germany — therefore needs either the M model or a second solution for cases and glass.

This is the key finding of this review: the ECO series is not a complete solution for a supermarket. It is the solution for small to medium single-use return volume in limited space — petrol station shop, kiosk, smaller supermarket beverage section, workplace canteen with can sales. For full-scale return operations, Sielaff offers the SiCompact 2020, with a substantial size difference: 1880 × 1350 × 1130 millimetres, approximately 420 kilograms, collection in half-pallet roll containers, and throughput of up to 60 containers per minute. The XL version accepts two full-pallet roll containers, weighs approximately 650 kilograms, and additionally accepts glass, beverage cartons and EAN-coded cups.

Sielaff does not specify throughput for the ECO series. The 60 containers per minute figure applies to the 2020 series and is not transferable.

Operation & Maintenance

Operating a deposit-return machine differs fundamentally from a vending machine: the task is not restocking product but removing empties. The three main tasks are container swap-out, cleaning, and clearing jams.

Compaction is the key to container swap-out, and it is built into all ECO variants. Swap frequency depends on return volume; Sielaff does not publish unit capacity. Anyone calculating labour time needs this figure for their specific setup — it should be requested from the dealer.

Cleaning is regularly underestimated in this category. Deposit-return machines receive unwashed bottles and cans with residue. The interior, intake area, and compaction zone therefore require regular maintenance, otherwise the machine becomes an odour problem and attracts insects. Sielaff does not specify a cleaning interval in the reviewed sources.

On maintenance: Sielaff is based in Herrieden, and spare parts availability for Sielaff machines is good through multiple German dealers — we have documented this for the vending machines of the same brand. We have no pricing on spare parts for the deposit-return series.

One economic point not in the datasheet but critical to the purchasing decision: the deposit-return obligation stems from packaging law and applies to the extent a retailer sells deposit-liable single-use packaging. A deposit-return machine is therefore, for many locations, not an investment that generates return but compliance with an obligation using minimum labour. This perspective shifts the measure: what counts is not revenue per machine but labour time saved compared to manual return at the till. Finally, the point that determines customer satisfaction: the deposit receipt must be accepted at the retailer's till. This is not a machine issue but a point-of-sale integration issue — and the most common source of complaints about deposit-return machines. The reviewed sources contain no information on point-of-sale integration for the ECO series.

Power & Energy

Here lies the most practically significant difference between the two Sielaff deposit-return series, and it is a site question, not a specification question. The ECO series runs single-phase: 220 to 230 volts, 50 hertz, minimum 10 amperes. Maximum power draw is 1500 watts, standby power no more than 60 watts. A standard outlet with its own circuit breaker is sufficient.

The SiCompact 2020, by contrast, requires three-phase power: 3L/N/PE, 400 volts, 50 hertz, with a maximum draw of 2630 watts in the base model and 4000 watts in the XL version. This is an electrician visit and, depending on the premises, a project. Anyone retrofitting a location should therefore first check what is available at the wall outlet — the answer determines which series, before any specification question is considered.

The standby figure is an honest metric for a deposit-return machine, because the equipment spends most of the day idle. 60 watts standby, calculated for continuous operation, amounts to approximately 525 kilowatt-hours per year — before a single container is processed. At current business electricity rates, that is approximately €150 to €180 per year. Compaction adds to this figure and depends on volume.

Sielaff does not publish annual consumption figures, and the 1500 watts maximum draw is not useful for calculation — that power is drawn only when the compactor operates. Anyone calculating operating costs needs power consumption data for the ordered configuration; this is a figure that should be requested from the dealer.

Pricing & Operating Costs

We do not list a price for this machine, and the reason differs from that for vending machines. Our database contained €8,900. No source could be found for this figure, which is understandable: deposit-return machines are sold as projects to retail. Sielaff publishes no prices, and we have found no dealer offering this series with a published price — unlike the vending machines of the same brand, where several specialists list prices.

We therefore now show "on request". Any purchaser should ensure that an offer clearly separates four items: First, container recognition. It is an option on this series, and without it the machine does not fully serve its purpose. This line item is the largest difference between two quotations that look identical on paper. Second, metal detection, also an option. Third, point-of-sale integration. A deposit receipt not accepted at the retailer's till creates exactly the dispute the machine is meant to prevent. Fourth, a service contract with response time. A broken deposit-return machine means manual returns at the till, which costs labour immediately — unlike a broken vending machine, which only loses sales.

Of operating costs, two are certain and one is unknown. Certain are standby power at approximately 525 kilowatt-hours per year, or roughly €150 to €180, and labour for container swap and cleaning. Unknown is spare parts pricing for this series; for the vending machines of the same brand, pricing is well documented across multiple German dealers, but we found nothing for the deposit-return units.

The measure of economic viability for this machine type is different anyway. A deposit-return machine fulfils an obligation under packaging law. The question is not what it generates but how many labour minutes it saves compared to manual return — and how much retail space it occupies. At 0.80 square metres, the ECO series scores well on the second question.

Technical data

All recorded data points at a glance.

Use & operations

Use cases / locations
Retail
Installation type
Floorstanding
Environment (indoor/outdoor)
Indoor

Technology

Receipt printer
Yes
Accepts cans
Yes
Accepts PET bottles
Yes
Accepts glass bottles
No
Compactor integrated
Yes
UI / display type
Touchscreen

Service & compliance

Price segment
Premium

Abmessungen & Gewicht

Dimensions (W × H × D)
880 × 1900 × 910 mm
Weight (unpacked)
300 kg
Rated power consumption
1500 W
Standby power
60 W

User reviews

Verified community reviews and clearly labelled external operator sources, separate from our 0–10 editorial score.

There are no confirmed community reviews for this model yet. You can submit your experience below.

Have experience with this machine?

Share your assessment. Your review helps other operators make purchasing decisions.

Share your experience with Sielaff SiCompact ECO

4 / 5

0/5000 characters (min. 100)

Only your first name and selected use case will be shown publicly.

Useful Links and Documents

Further sources

  1. 1.Sielaff — SiCompact ECO Serie, offizielle Produktseite (drei Varianten mit Maßen, Gewichten, Stellfläche, Anschlusswerten 230 V / max. 1.500 W / Standby max. 60 W, Erkennungstechnik als Option, Bedienhöhen der eaSi)sielaff.de/en/products/reverse-vending-machines/stand-alone-solutions/sicompact-eco-series
  2. 2.Sielaff — SiCompact 2020 Serie (Vergleichsbaureihe: 400 V Drehstrom, bis 60 Gebinde/Minute, Omega-360°-Echtzeiterkennung mit Präzisionswaagen serienmäßig, Europaletten-Rollbehälter)sielaff.de/en/products/reverse-vending-machines/stand-alone-solutions/sicompact-2020
  3. 3.Sielaff — Übersicht Rücknahmeautomatensielaff.de/en/products/reverse-vending-machines
  4. 4.Verpackungsgesetz — Rücknahmepflicht für pfandpflichtige Einweggetränkeverpackungen (Umweltbundesamt, Themenseite Verpackungen)umweltbundesamt.de/themen/abfall-ressourcen/produktverantwortung-in-der-abfallwirtschaft/verpackungen
Data review: AI-assisted research, editorially checkedLast checked: Redaktion AutomatenTests.deRating criteria documented transparently

Frequently asked questions about Sielaff SiCompact ECO

Does the SiCompact ECO also accept glass bottles and cases?

The base model and eaSi accept single-use PET and cans, no glass. The ECO M additionally accepts reusable glass and PET bottles and reusable cups and trays; it includes an additional SiDrop module for this. The series is not designed for cases or large quantities of reusables — for that, Sielaff offers the larger SiCompact 2020, whose XL model additionally accepts beverage cartons and EAN-coded cups.

Is a standard outlet enough?

Yes, and that is this series' strongest argument. The ECO runs single-phase at 220 to 230 volts, 50 hertz, and minimum 10 amperes, with maximum draw of 1,500 watts and standby power of no more than 60 watts. The larger SiCompact 2020 requires three-phase power at 400 volts, drawing up to 4,000 watts in the XL version — an electrician visit and, depending on the building, a project.

Is container recognition built in?

No, it is an option on this series. Sielaff offers a 360-degree recognition system called SiEye or a 360-degree Omega barcode reader, both optional, as is metal detection. On the larger SiCompact 2020, real-time camera recognition with precision scales for weight, barcode, shape and security feature is standard. Anyone ordering the ECO must explicitly add this option — otherwise it lacks the function that makes a deposit-return machine a deposit-return machine.

What does it cost?

This cannot be determined from public sources. Sielaff publishes no prices for deposit-return machines, and we have found no dealer offering this series with a price — unlike the vending machines of the same brand. Deposit-return technology is sold as projects to retail. An offer should clearly separate container recognition, metal detection, point-of-sale integration and service contract.