Skip to content
Sielaff· Vending & Automatensysteme

Sielaff SiCompact 2020

7.7/ 10

Recommended

Data review — researched from sources, not physically tested. How we rate

Design & build7.0
Technology & features9.0
Operation & maintenance8.5
Capacity & range8.0
Value for money6.0
On request
  • Retail
  • Floorstanding
  • Indoor
  • 3600 Stück/h
🌿

No EU energy label
for this category

Rated power consumption

2630 W

Standby power

70 W

Power connection

400 V AC, 3L/N/PE, 50 Hz

Sielaff SiCompact 2020

Use cases

Where this machine fits.

Suitable

Supermarket with peak traffic

Up to 60 items per minute and rotation-free recognition. Speed pays off precisely where a queue builds on Saturday afternoons.

Suitable

Full-range retailer with reusables and glass

The XL model accepts reusables, glass, beverage cartons and cups with EAN codes. In Germany, this is the standard case, not the exception.

Suitable

Location with existing three-phase power

400-volt power rarely exists at the desired spot. Where it does, the costliest ancillary item is eliminated.

Suitable

Not suitable: low single-use volume

Here, three-phase power would be installed for capacity that is never needed. The SiCompact ECO runs single-phase on 0.80 m².

Suitable

Not suitable: outdoor installation

Both models are indoor units.

Our rating in detail

Five public rating axes, weighted against the available evidence.

Design & build
7.0 / 10
Technology & features
9.0 / 10
Operation & maintenance
8.5 / 10
Capacity & range
8.0 / 10
Value for money
6.0 / 10

Our verdict

7.7Good

Sielaff's high-capacity reverse vending series: up to 60 items per minute, camera-based 360-degree recognition as standard, collection in half-pallet roll containers. The constraint: it requires 400-volt three-phase power instead of a standard outlet.

At a glance

Model
Sielaff SiCompact 2020
Manufacturer
Sielaff
Category
Reverse Vending Machines
Price range
On request
Overall score
7.7 / 10
Origin
Sielaff (DE)

Pros & cons

Pros

  • 10.1-inch HD touchscreen
  • Up to 60 items per minute, approximately 3,600 per hour
  • Collection in half-pallet roll containers, movable with a standard pallet jack
  • Verification includes weight, barcode, shape and security features
  • Rotation-free: items do not need to be turned for barcode reading
  • German manufacturer in Herrieden, spare-parts availability for Sielaff machines generally good
  • Standby at 70 W documented — on a machine that is idle most of the time, the more relevant figure
  • XL model additionally accepts reusables, glass, beverage cartons and cups with EAN codes
  • Item recognition standard: camera-based, rotation-free Omega 360° recognition in real time with precision scales — a paid option on the ECO series

Cons

  • 1.53 m² floor footprint versus 0.80 m² on the SiCompact ECO
  • Approximately 420 kg, approximately 650 kg on XL — floor load capacity not specified
  • No public price and no distributor with pricing found
  • Explicitly indoor only
  • No unit collection capacity specified — emptying frequency cannot be forecast in advance
  • Base model does not accept glass or reusable containers; the XL is required for those
  • Requires 400-V three-phase (3L/N/PE) — an electrician job, potentially a building project
  • Annual consumption not published
  • No information on point-of-sale integration and telemetry found in reviewed sources
  • Up to 2,630 W on base model, up to 4,000 W on XL

Review

Design & Build

The SiCompact 2020 is Sielaff's response to full-capacity reverse vending operation, and it is a fundamentally different machine from the smaller ECO series — not simply a scaled-up version of it.

The base model measures 1,880 mm in height, 1,350 mm in width and 1,130 mm in depth, and weighs approximately 420 kg without collection container. This requires approximately 1.53 square metres of floor space. For comparison within the same manufacturer: the SiCompact ECO requires 0.80 square metres, just under half.

The XL model is substantially larger: 1,880 × 1,880 × 1,480 mm and approximately 650 kg. At this weight, floor load capacity ceases to be a formality and becomes a specification that must be confirmed before installation — Sielaff does not provide it.

Both models are indoor units. Designed for pre-checkout areas or indoor return points, not for outdoor installation.

The key difference from the smaller series, however, is not in dimensions but in power requirements. See the section on Power & Energy — this determines the choice before any other specification is considered.

Technology & Functions

Here lies the reason to choose this series, and it sets it clearly apart from the ECO series.

Item recognition is standard on the 2020 series, not optional: camera-based, rotation-free Omega 360-degree recognition in real time, combined with precision scales. According to the manufacturer, weight, barcode, shape and security features are verified.

This is precisely the function that is a paid option on the ECO series. Those choosing the lower cost get a collection machine with compaction, but no reliable deposit verification. On the 2020 series this question is resolved — and this is the substantive core of the price difference between the series.

'Rotation-free' means in practice that the item does not need to be turned for the barcode to be read. With older reverse machines, this turning is precisely what creates the queue time you see building up in front of the machine.

Operation is via a 10.1-inch HD touchscreen.

No information on connectivity is found in the reviewed sources. On a machine whose collection containers must be emptied, fill-level monitoring would be the obvious benefit — this is not documented. The same applies to point-of-sale integration, without which a deposit receipt issued by the machine will not be recognized at the operator's checkout. Both should be explicitly included in any quote.

Capacity & Product Range

Throughput is the defining metric for this series: up to 60 items per minute. Calculated hourly, this is 3,600 items — the hourly figure is our conversion; Sielaff quotes the per-minute rate.

This figure is not published for the ECO series and must not be assumed to apply to it. It is why the 2020 series belongs in a supermarket handling peak weekend traffic, while the ECO belongs in a petrol station convenience shop.

Items are collected in half-pallet roll containers. The XL model accepts two full-pallet roll containers. Sielaff does not state a unit capacity, which is understandable with compacted items — the density depends on the material. For staffing planning, nonetheless: the number of empties per week must be estimated by the operator based on their actual return volume.

There is a clear distinction between the two models on product acceptance. The base model takes single-use PET and cans. The XL additionally accepts reusable containers, glass, beverage cartons and cups with EAN codes. For a German full-range retailer, this is the defining line: those who accept reusables and glass — and this is the standard case — need the XL model or a second solution alongside it.

Operation & Maintenance

Operating a reverse machine consists of three tasks: changing containers, cleaning, and clearing jammed items.

The design facilitates container changes: half-pallet roll containers can be moved with a standard pallet jack; the XL model, with two full-pallet containers, similarly. Compaction reduces the number of changes needed. How often changes are required depends on volume; Sielaff does not provide a unit count.

Cleaning is routinely underestimated for this machine class. Unrinsed bottles and cans with residual contents enter the machine, and with the XL, also glass and beverage cartons. The interior, acceptance opening and compaction area require a fixed cleaning schedule, or the machine becomes an odour problem. Sielaff does not specify a cleaning interval.

On maintenance: Sielaff is based in Herrieden, and spare-parts availability for Sielaff machines is good through several German distributors — we have documented this for beverage machines of the same brand. For this reverse machine series, we have no parts pricing data.

An operational point not in the datasheet: return requirements follow from the Packaging Act and apply to the extent an operator sells deposits-liable single-use packaging themselves. The benchmark is therefore not revenue per machine, but labour time saved versus manual handling at the checkout — and at 60 items per minute, this leverage is substantial.

Power & Energy

This is the specification that must be confirmed before any other, and it is a site question.

The SiCompact 2020 requires three-phase power: 3L/N/PE, 400 volts, 50 Hz. Maximum power draw is 2,630 W on the base model, 70 W in standby. The XL model draws up to 4,000 W.

The smaller ECO series from the same manufacturer, by contrast, runs single-phase at 220–230 volts with a maximum 1,500 W — a standard outlet with its own circuit breaker suffices. This is not a minor detail: three-phase power is an electrician's job and, depending on the building, a construction project. Anyone retrofitting an existing location should therefore check what power is already at the wall. The answer determines which series to choose.

On a reverse machine, the standby figure is the more honest metric, because the machine is idle most of the day. At continuous standby, 70 W calculates to approximately 613 kWh annually — before a single item is processed. At current commercial electricity rates, this is roughly €180–210 per year. Compaction draw is additional and depends on volume.

Sielaff does not publish annual consumption, and the 2,630 W maximum draw is not suitable for forecasting — it flows only under load. Anyone projecting running costs needs a consumption figure for the specific configuration ordered.

Pricing & Operating Costs

We do not quote a price for this machine. Sielaff does not publish prices for reverse machines, and we have found no distributor offering one of this series with a published price — unlike beverage machines from the same brand, where several specialist dealers carry list prices. Reverse technology is project-based sales with the trade.

What can be reliably calculated is standby: approximately 613 kWh annually, roughly €180–210. To this add labour for container changes and cleaning. Spare-parts pricing for this series is not available.

Four line items must be explicitly separate in any quote:

First, the electrical connection. 400-volt three-phase, up to 4,000 W on the XL — this capacity rarely exists at the desired location.

Second, floor load capacity, particularly for the XL at approximately 650 kg plus filled roll containers.

Third, point-of-sale integration. A deposit receipt that is not recognized at the operator's checkout creates precisely the friction the machine is meant to eliminate.

Fourth, a service agreement with response time. A broken-down reverse machine means manual handling at the checkout and directly costs labour time.

Final assessment: the 2020 series pays for itself where return volume is high and variable, and where built-in recognition is required. Choosing the ECO under these conditions saves on the connection but costs more in recognition. Conversely, with low single-use volume, a three-phase connection would be installed for power that is never needed.

Technical data

All recorded data points at a glance.

Use & operations

Use cases / locations
Retail
Installation type
Floorstanding
Environment (indoor/outdoor)
Indoor

Technology

Throughput per hour
3600 Stück/h
Receipt printer
Yes
Accepts cans
Yes
Accepts PET bottles
Yes
Accepts glass bottles
No
Compactor integrated
Yes
UI / display type
Touchscreen

Service & compliance

Price segment
Enterprise

Dimensions & weight

Dimensions (W × H × D)
1.350 × 1.880 × 1.130 mm
Weight (unpacked)
420 kg
Rated power consumption
2630 W
Standby power
70 W
Power connection
400 V AC, 3L/N/PE, 50 Hz

User reviews

Verified community reviews and clearly labelled external operator sources, separate from our 0–10 editorial score.

There are no confirmed community reviews for this model yet. You can submit your experience below.

Have experience with this machine?

Share your assessment. Your review helps other operators make purchasing decisions.

Share your experience with Sielaff SiCompact 2020

4 / 5

0/5000 characters (min. 100)

Only your first name and selected use case will be shown publicly.

Useful Links and Documents

Further sources

  1. 1.Sielaff — SiCompact 2020, offizielle Produktseite (1.880 × 1.350 × 1.130 mm, ~420 kg, bis 60 Gebinde/Minute, kamerabasierte rotationsfreie Omega-360°-Erkennung mit Präzisionswaagen serienmäßig, 3L/N/PE 400 V 50 Hz, max. 2.630 W / Standby 70 W, Display 10,1" HD, halbe Europaletten-Rollbehälter; XL 1.880 × 1.880 × 1.480 mm, ~650 kg, max. 4.000 W, zwei Europaletten-Rollbehälter, zusätzlich Mehrweg, Glas, Getränkekartons und Becher mit EAN) — sielaff.de/en/products/reverse-vending-machines/stand-alone-solutions/sicompact-2020
  2. 2.Sielaff — SiCompact ECO Serie (Vergleichsbaureihe: einphasig 220–230 V, max. 1.500 W / Standby max. 60 W, 0,80 m² Stellfläche, Erkennung nur als Option) — sielaff.de/en/products/reverse-vending-machines/stand-alone-solutions/sicompact-eco-series
  3. 3.Sielaff — Übersicht Rücknahmeautomaten — sielaff.de/en/products/reverse-vending-machines
  4. 4.Verpackungsgesetz — Rücknahmepflicht für pfandpflichtige Einweggetränkeverpackungen (Umweltbundesamt, Themenseite Verpackungen) — umweltbundesamt.de/themen/abfall-ressourcen/produktverantwortung-in-der-abfallwirtschaft/verpackungen
Data review: AI-assisted source analysis, no hands-on test by usLast checked: VendingTests.com editorial teamRating criteria documented transparently

Frequently asked questions about Sielaff SiCompact 2020

What sets the SiCompact 2020 apart from the smaller ECO series?

Two things, both substantial. First, recognition: on the 2020 series, camera-based 360-degree recognition with precision scales is standard; on the ECO series it is a paid option — without it, the ECO is a collection machine without reliable deposit verification. Second, power: the 2020 requires 400-volt three-phase; the ECO runs single-phase on a standard outlet. Add to that footprint: 1.53 versus 0.80 square metres.

Is a standard outlet sufficient?

No. The SiCompact 2020 requires three-phase power with 3L/N/PE, 400 volts and 50 Hz, a maximum 2,630 W on the base model and 4,000 W on the XL. This is an electrician's job and, depending on the building, a project. Anyone retrofitting an existing location should first check what power is at the wall — the answer determines the series choice before any other specification is considered.

Does it accept glass and reusables?

Only the XL model. The base model accepts single-use PET and cans; the XL additionally accepts reusable containers, glass, beverage cartons and cups with EAN codes. For a German full-range retailer accepting reusables and glass, this is the defining line: the XL is needed or a second solution alongside it.

How fast is it really?

Sielaff specifies up to 60 items per minute, approximately 3,600 per hour — the hourly figure is our conversion. Important: this applies only to the 2020 series. For the ECO series, Sielaff publishes no throughput, and the 60-per-minute figure must not be assumed to apply to it.

Sielaff RVS 800

Sielaff · Reverse Vending Machines

Sielaff RVS 800

8.0Very good

The Sielaff RVS 800 is the well-engineered alternative to Tomra in mid-market retail. 800 containers per hour, integrated compressor, and a service network that delivers faster response times than the market leader in DACH regions. The more cost-effective choice for retail spaces up to 5,000 m².

from €8,900

Envipco Quantum / Optima

Envipco · Reverse Vending Machines

Envipco Quantum / Optima

7.1Good

Envipco operates an unusually complete range: from 400 containers per day at the Compact to 7,200 per hour with the Quantum. The bulk-feed units accept unsorted material and identify by four criteria — material, form, size and weight — plus self-diagnosis, self-cleaning and automatic recovery. For each size, the manufacturer states floor space and storage capacity, so the right size can be calculated in advance: a Quantum XXL reaches capacity after eleven hours at full load, a Quantum Indoor after 83 minutes. Two factors cloud the picture. Envipco publishes no electrical specifications and no dimensions in millimeters. And glass is accepted only via single-drop input — operators who must handle glass returns have no choice but Optima or Flex Tri, regardless of volume.

On request

Sielaff SiCompact ECO

Sielaff · Reverse Vending Machines

Sielaff SiCompact ECO

7.2Good

Single-phase deposit-return machine for single-use PET and cans, 0.80 square metres floor space, three sizes including a low accessibility-compatible model. The catch: container recognition is an optional feature on this series, not standard equipment.

On request

Tomra T9

Tomra · Reverse Vending Machines

Tomra T9

8.7Very good

The Tomra T9 is the reference machine for beverage container returns under Germany's single-use deposit system. With ~80 % market share in Europe, 15-inch touchscreen, Tomra Insight IoT platform and up to 2,000 units/hour, it sets the industry standard. For supermarkets from ~300 m² retail floor space, the clear first choice – yet its near-monopoly status is simultaneously its weakness and its strength.

from €8,500